MINUTES



Annual general meeting (AGM)

Thursday 3 August 2017, 7:30-8:50 pm

Chair: Steve Marks, President

Minutes: Jes Simson, Secretary

7:38pm Welcome

By Steve Marks, President

Attendance: Helen Bacon, Leonie Besley, Kathryn Coleman, Irene Court, Ruth Cronin, Max Darby, Annalise Fosbery, Carly Grace, Ourania Katsambanis, Mikl Longstaff, Marion Marks, Steve Marks, Neil Marshall, Robert Mathers, Freya McCormick, Penny McGonegal, Courtney Meehan, Adrian Montana, Leah Murphy, Clare Muston, Margaret Peppard, Hilary Senhanli, Jes Simson, Adam Staples, Marian Strong, Mark Threadgold, Sandra Tobias, Lena Toirkov,

Proxies: Vivienne Hayes, Tahlia Jolly, Sash Fernando, Monique Warwick, Rohan Schwartz, Laura Russell.

Online: Shelley Menhennet, Diana Dow.

Apologies: Katherine Barnes, Melissa Bedford, Christine Healy, Alexandra Kimonedes, Andrew Kimonedes.

7:40pm Confirmation of the minutes of the 2016 AGM

Presented by Jes Simson, Secretary See separate document titled '<u>Art Education Victoria 2016 annual general meeting minutes</u>' **Motion:** That the minutes of the 2016 annual general meeting be accepted as an accurate record of the 2016 annual general meeting with the following amendment: page 1 attendance 'Marian Marks' be changed to 'Marion Marks' **Moved**: Jes Simson, Secretary **Seconded**: Leah Murphy **Carried**

7:43pm Presentation of the annual report

Presented by Steve Marks, President Subsections presented by Kathryn Coleman (Vice President), Marion Marks (Executive Editor of ARTicle), Adrian Montana (council member) See separate documents: 2016-17 Annual report (<u>slides</u> and notes) **Motion:** That the annual report be accepted as an accurate record of the activities of Art Education Victoria during the 2016-17 financial year. **Moved**: Steve Marks, President **Seconded**: Kathryn Coleman, Vice President **Carried**

8:17pm Presentation of the financial statements

Presented by Freya McCormick, Treasurer

See separate document titled 'Art Education Victoria 2016-17 financial statements'

Motion: That the annual statements give a true and fair view of the financial performance and position of Art Education Victoria for the year ending 31 March 2017. **Moved:** Freya McCormick, Treasurer Seconded: Marian Strong Carried

8:33pm Setting of 2018-19 membership fees

Presented by Freya McCormick, Treasurer See separate documents: 2016-17 Annual report (<u>slides</u> and notes) **Motion:** That the membership fees from 1 April 2018, for the 2018-19 financial year, be set as outlined in the document titled 'Proposed 2018-19 membership fees'. **Moved:** Freya McCormick, Treasurer **Seconded:** Marion Marks **Carried**

8:37pm Thank you to outgoing councillors

Kate Coleman, Vice President thanked the outgoing councillors on behalf of Art Education Victoria: Vanja Radisic, Phoebe Imms, Tahlia Jolly, Magda Newman, Amy Grevis-James, Karen Gallagher, John Carroll and Stephanie Davies. Steve Marks, President thanked Kate Coleman for her service as Vice President.

8:45pm Election of the 2017-18 council

Nominees for President: Steve Marks

As there are no other nominations, Steve Marks is elected President.

Nominees for Vice President: Shelley Menhennet, Penny McGonegal and Mark Threadgold

Motion: That Art Education Victoria moves to allow three vice presidents of Art Education Victoria's 2017-18 council.
One Vice President for Primary, one Vice President for Secondary/VCE Resources and one Vice President for Secondary/VCE Programming and Professional Development.
Moved: Steve Marks, President
Seconded: Leah Murphy
Carried

Motion: That Shelley Menhennet (VP Primary), Penny McGonegal (VP Secondary/VCE Resources) and Mark Threadgold (VP Secondary/VCE Programming and Professional Development) are elected co-vice presidents of the 2017-18 council. Moved: Steve Marks, President Seconded: Adrian Montana Carried

Nominees for Secretary: Jes Simson As there are no other nominations, Jes Simson is elected Secretary.

Nominees for Treasurer: Freya McCormick As there are no other nominations, Freya McCormick is elected Treasurer.

Nominees for General Council (10 total): Leonie Besley, Ruth Cronin, Jaimi Dawson, Sash Fernando, Marion Marks, Adrian Montana, Leah Murphy, Laura Russell, Rohan Schwartz, Adam Staples.
Motion: That Leonie Besley, Ruth Cronin, Jaimi Dawson, Sash Fernando, Marion Marks, Adrian Montana, Leah Murphy, Laura Russell, Rohan Schwartz and Adam Staples are duly elected general council members of the 2017-18 council.
Moved: Steve Marks, President
Seconded: Helen Bacon
Carried

8:50pm Close